Liebster Award ten question Bloggity Blog Hop.

I was tagged by my  friend  Nikki Roberti who blogs at http://mrshealthyeverafter.com/2014/11/12/the-liebster-award-10-question-blog-hop/for the Liebster Award. I have to answer her ten questions about my work-in-progress and then tag some more people and give them my own questions. Since I’ve been eating, sleeping, breathing last year’s nano for over a year now I’ll be telling you all about Silverblood.

1) How did you come up with your WIP’s title?
It took a really, really long time to come up with my title. It went through a lot of terrible iterations. And finally I said *enough*, I did some brainstorming with a friend on Facebook and he suggested Silver Veins. That wasn’t wasn’t right, but it was a lot closer and then I started thinking about how the big flashy tech in my book it the nanite blood. From there the leap was easy and boom, portmanteau title.

2) What motivates you to write?

Well I have this lifelong dream to publish a book and it ain’t going to happen on it’s own. I also love spending time with my characters, they’re awesome. When things are getting me down I write because I can then share it with people. The feedback usually makes me feel better.

3) Do you find yourself putting past experiences in your book? Give an example!

Certainly. I just put my tenth grade history teachers smoking van in a new scene in my WIP for a little bit of color.

4) What is your main character’s biggest obstacle?

Lies and half truths. A lot of the conflict in my book stems from people not communicating well with each other. Leah and Izzy’s dad is always withholding the truth from them. Both of them know something is hinky with Leah’s recovery and neither of them know how to approach it. So much of the badness that goes down could have been solved with some honesty. Also crazed lady cyborg scientists bent on revenge. But that’s the external obstacle.

5) What is your crutch word that you always have to go back and delete because you use it too many times?

Looked. My characters look SO much. Do you not have other senses, characters? I also have clutch phrases. The number of time my character’s stomach has “twisted in a sour knot” in this draft is kind of an issue.

6) Who is your author role model and why?

Neil Gaiman. He’s such an amazing member of the community and he has a stunning voice. Chuck Wendig. He’s funny and he also has a killer voice.

7) What happens in your favorite scene from your WIP?

Hiding in a haystack. Sneaking around. Triboluminescence. Severed robot arms. Eighties music. What’s not to love?

8) Please share a favorite line from your manuscript!

My heart, shit. How had I forgotten my heart could beat this fast? Like it might burst out, alien-style, from my chest and go running off to find it’s Mommy heart for fun and exciting galaxy terrorizing hijinks.
9) Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year?

I’m rebelling and revising.

10) What advice do you have for other authors

Keep going and kick those doubt weasels in their sharp bitey teeth.

I shall now tag:
Colleen Booker Halverson
Kate Foster
Mel Stephenson
Lana Wood Johnson
Julie Artz
Louise D. Gornall

Now for my list of questions.
1) What first inspired your current WIP?
2) Are your characters based in any way or did they spring, Athena style, from your cranium fully formed.
3) What genre are you writing in?
4) What’s your favorite part of your current WIP?
5) Do you cast your characters? Figuring out which actors would play your characters in the movie of your book. Who would play your MC? Your antagonist?
6) Where is your novel set?
7) Are you a plotter or a pantser? What brought you this decision?
8) How many drafts have you written for this WIP?
9) Do you set up some sort of reward system to keep you motivated through the long, arduous process of writing a novel length work?
10) Do your characters talk to you?

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award ten question Bloggity Blog Hop.

Leave a Reply

